Mystery #1

Every few weeks, I will post a mystery item from nature for your fun.This one should not be too hard.

Closeup #1, Canon G10

1-close

I am not posting any tags for this. Tomorrow I will post a slightly expanded view. and the day after, the full view and name. If it’s too easy, I will post the full view tomorrow. Leave a guess or at least post a comment.

Be sure to scroll down and see the Bumelia Webworm Moth (my first post on WordPress)
Troy

About Troy

Retired Scientist and Naturalist. Avid Bible reader
This entry was posted in Dragonflies, insects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Mystery #1

  1. jsm says:

    I am sure that mystery #1 is a shrimp caught in a net. Right?

  2. Geogypsy says:

    Maybe some kind of wasp?
    Really like the header.

    I won’t be replacing the hot water heater as it’s a very old RV. Just going to bypass it so I can at least have cold running water.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  3. willow says:

    Great photo, Troy.

    I’ll be interested to see how you like WordPress.

  4. Hey Troy….

    I like the new format. How do you like it compared to Blogger? Been thinking of switching to wordpress as well…

    Scotty

  5. Gallicissa says:

    Greetings from Sri Lanka!
    Conrats on your new nature blog with WordPress!

    Thanks for greeting me with such a wonderful image on my first visit here.

    Tough one….mmmmm

    If I am asked to identify it in gun-point, I would go for Red Saddlebag.
    Cheers!
    Amila.

  6. Marvin says:

    Looking good, Troy.

    A special “Thank You” for allowing your full post to show on Google Reader. That’s a major aid to someone stuck with dial up as I am.

    I’m clueless about the mystery, though.

  7. Arija says:

    It does look like a superbly preserved Egyptian goddess, but I guess it is a modern Dragonfly.

    Great idea to have just a nature blog. I may have to follow suit. Thanks for letting me know.

  8. Really interesting geometry going on there…
    It’s name?   I’m guessing it’s something like Bob or Bill, but what do I know…

    Gave you a link on my sidebar — glad to see you’re back up and running… So many folks have switched over to WordPress from Blogspot — good luck with it.

  9. Dewdrop says:

    Outstanding, Troy!

  10. Bob says:

    Very cool site, and different, with your great Photography skills should be a winner, I will add this site to my blogroll, again very cool.

  11. Love the photo! The thorax and wings of…hmmm… this is harder than you think it is, Troy. 😉 Is it a wasp?

  12. Kyle says:

    Thanks for the visit and the comment, Troy. I like the new site — look forward to seeing more of your great photography here!

    Oh, and my guess would be a dragonfly of some sort, maybe a saddlebag or an amberwing?

  13. Fishing Guy says:

    Troy: I would have to guess part of a butterfly, although I can’t guess the type.

  14. jackeymein says:

    Hay!! these pictures are truly impressive…good keep it going….

    Jack

Leave a Reply

